2016 MANHATTAN SHORT Film Festival Winners

Posted on Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Hold On

Established in New York City in 1997, the MANHATTAN SHORT Film Festival receives over 500 entries from more than 40 countries each year. Audiences from around the world unite not only to view the films, but to vote on them as well.

From this year's list of 10 finalists, the official global winners are:

Gold Winner: Hold on (19,210 Votes)

Silver Winner: The Tunnel (16,264 Votes)

Bronze Winner: I am a Pencil (10,505 Votes)

Best Actor Winner: Charlie Chan Dagelet (36,746 Votes)

Below are the winners as selected by the viewers from the Art Center's three screenings:

Des Moines Art Center Voters' Choice

Best Film

  1. The Tunnel
  2. Hold On
  3. Overtime
  4. I Am A Pencil
  5. Ella Gets a Promotion
  6. Gorilla
  7. Bravoman
  8. Carousel
  9. Last Journey Paul WR
  10. Kaputt

Best Actor

  1. Charlie Chan Dagelet (Hold On)
  2. Erin Breen (Ella Gets a Promotion)
  3. Harmony Rose Bremner
  4. Igor Sergeev (Bravoman)
  5. Ewen Bremner (Carousel)
  6. Hugo Becker (Last Journey of Paul WR)

Hold On
Written & Directed by: Charlotte Scott-Wilson / Netherlands
Running Time: 20:00 minutes

entirely unexpected