Community Photography Showcase: Street Photography

The Des Moines Art Center invites you to participate in a community photography showcase in concert with the exhibition Vivian Maier: Through a Critical Lens.

Street photography documents and explores urban centers. This practice focuses on scenes of city life, urban landscapes, and portraits made on the street. Specific examples might be transactions at the farmer’s market, musicians playing on the street, fireworks at the baseball game, or documentation exploring other media: graffiti, murals, fiber bombing, and other guerilla art.

Community Photography Showcase Selections

Community Photography Showcase: Juried Selections


To view all of the images submitted to the Art Center's Community Photography Showcase: Street Photography, please visit our Flickr gallery.


Important Dates

Entry Deadline: Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Notice of Acceptance: Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Exhibition Dates: Adrienne and Charles Herbert Galleries / Education wing / December 12, 2016 – January 3, 2017

Community Celebration: Thursday, December 15 / 5 – 7 pm

Exhibition information

The Community Photography Showcase will be on view in the Adrienne and Charles Herbert Galleries, located in the Art Center's Education wing from Monday, December 12, 2016 through Tuesday, January 3, 2017. 

Times when the public will be able to view the exhibition are listed below:

  • Monday, December 12 – Thursday, December 15 / 9 am – 9 pm
  • Friday, December 16 / 9 am – 5 pm
  • Saturday, December 17 / 9 am – 4 pm
  • Sunday, December 18 / Noon – 4 pm
  • Monday, December 19 – Friday, December 23 / 9 am – 5 pm
  • Saturday, December 24 and Sunday, December 25 / Closed
  • Monday, December 26 – Friday, December 30 / 8 am – 5 pm
  • Saturday, December 31 / Closed
  • Sunday, January 1 / Closed
  • Monday, January 2 / 9 am – 5 pm
  • Tuesday, January 3 / 9 am – 3 pm

entirely unexpected